General Community Settings

In this article, we will explore the Community Settings screen and all its subcategories.

After creating your new learning community, you can modify a wide range of settings and customization options directly through the community screen.

Community settings

Here, you have the option to toggle the button to enable or disable the visibility of your community to users.

This feature gives you the flexibility to choose when and how your community is accessible.

Whether you want to showcase it openly or restrict access for private purposes, this button puts the control in your hands.

Community Details

The information provided here will be used to identify your community. Feel free to describe your community and optionally include a banner image. You can use the AI Improve buttons to create your community name and description and the AI Image Generator to generate an image for your community.

When inserting a community image, it is advisable to use dimensions of 1200×280px with a file size under 5 MB. This image will be displayed prominently on your community homepage and within community rooms if a specific image is not assigned to the room.

Community Access

There are various options available to regulate the accessibility of your community for students. These options include providing free unlimited access, invite-only access, or paid access.

Free Community Access

Free community access allows members to join and participate in your community without any cost or membership fees.

It is a great way to attract a broad audience, encourage participation, and build a vibrant, engaged community.

You can follow the steps in this link to learn more about free community access.

Invite-Only Community Access

These are exclusive groups where membership and access are restricted to individuals who receive an invitation from community administrators.

These communities often offer a higher level of privacy and security since access is limited and monitored.

Here is a link for more information about invite-only community access.

Paid Community Access

Paid access pertains to a membership model in which individuals are required to pay a fee to join and engage within the community.

Members usually receive entry to exclusive content, enhanced functionalities, and specialized resources that are not accessible to non-paying members.

You can refer to this link for more information about paid community access.

Community Features

The community comes with 9 features, which are enabled by default. However, you can disable the ones you do not need at any time.

Member leaderboard & levels

This is used to rank community members by the points they earn, and their levels are shown on their profiles for all to see.

Live events

This is used to hold live sessions and webinars inside the community, and it comes with RSVPs and reminder emails.

You can refer to this link for more information about live events in the community.

Ask-the-community AI

This allows members to ask the community questions, and the AI will pull information from past community discussions and comments to answer.

Weekly digest

This shows members a card on the right-hand side of the community summarizing the last 7 days in the community: new posts, the biggest thread, who joined, and what's coming up.

Polls in posts

This allows you to create polls in the community to gather feedback or more information.

Emoji reactions

This gives multiple emoji reactions on posts, alongside the existing Like.

New member checklist

This shows new members a short "Get started" checklist on their first visits. This way, they get to complete their profile, open a room, and write their first post. This checklist disappears when finished or dismissed.

Community health card

This is an engagement metric in the sidebar for admins only, so members never see it. It shows if members are posting, if posts are getting comments, upcoming events, etc.

Best answer & Resolved

This allows you to tag a comment as the best answer to a question or post. When this is done, the question or post is marked as resolved.

Click the Save button once you have finished entering all the features of your community to ensure that the changes are reflected on your community's Homepage.

More Features

Moderation

When posts or comments are reported, they show up under "Moderation," so you can dismiss the report, delete the comment, or ban the member.

Saved

Bookmarked posts show up under "Saved," and you can unsave them from that tab as well.

Summarize Thread

When a post has 3 or more comments, you will see an AI - Catch me up button on the post, which can summarize the whole thread for you.

You only get one summary per thread, so if you have new comments, you can click the button again to generate another summary.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us